‘Star Wars’ Digital Movie Collection arrives April 10

by W. Andrew Powell
Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back

Disney and Lucasfilm gave Star Wars fans a surprise last night with the long-awaited news that the Star Wars Saga–dubbed the Star Wars Digital Movie Collection–will arrive on Digital HD this Friday, April 10.

In a move to help build anticipation for the new Star Wars film, Star Wars: The Force Awakens–which is set for release December 18, 2015–the companies made the surprise announcement last night and have promised a number of extras with the six films.

Fans can purchase the films individually, or as a complete collection, including Star Wars: Episodes I-VI, and the never-before-seen special features include: Star Wars: Discoveries from Inside, conversations with film makers and stars, and a collection of extras from each of the six films.

Earlier this morning, Xbox confirmed that they are one of the launch partners for the films and will offer exclusives to fans who purchase from Xbox Video, which is available for pre-purchase on the service now.

Xbox exclusives include a digital R2-D2 for Xbox Live to act as a companion for your avatar, Star Wars Pinball Pack for Pinball FX 2 on Xbox One or Xbox 360, and a sneak peek at features in the Saga for fans who pre-purchase before April 10.

Update: Google Play has also confirmed that fans can pre-order the collection and the individual films starting today. The complete collection is available for pre-order for $89.99 in the United States, and $124.99 in Canada. Individual films are $19.99 in the U.S. and $24.99 in Canada.

Watch the teaser below, and scroll down for the full list of features:

STAR WARS EPISODE I: The Phantom Menace

  • Conversations: Doug Chiang Looks Back
  • Discoveries From Inside: Models & Miniatures
  • Legacy content includes “The Beginning”; The Podrace: Theatrical Edit; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE II:  Attack of the Clones

  • Conversations: Sounds In Space
  • Discoveries From Inside: Costumes Revealed
  • Legacy content includes “From Puppets To Pixels: Digital Characters In Episode II”; State Of The Art: The Previsualization Of Episode II; and “Films Are Not Released, They Escape”; plus Episode II Visual Effects Breakdown Montage and six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE III: Revenge of the Sith

  • Conversations: The Star Wars That Almost Was
  • Discoveries From Inside: Hologram & Bloopers
  • Legacy content includes documentaries “Within A Minute: The Making Of Episode III”; The Journey Part 1; and The Journey Part 2; plus six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE IV: A New Hope (20th Century Fox)

  • Conversations: Creating A Universe
  • Discoveries From Inside: Weapons & The First Lightsaber
  • Legacy content includes “Anatomy Of A Dewback”; Star Wars Launch Trailer; plus eight deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE V: The Empire Strikes Back

  • Conversations: The Lost Interviews
  • Discoveries From Inside: Matte Paintings Unveiled
  • Legacy content includes “A Conversation With The Masters” (2010); “Dennis Muren: How Walkers Walk”; “George Lucas On Editing The Empire Strikes Back 1979”; and “George Lucas On The Force: 2010”; plus six deleted scenes.

STAR WARS EPISODE VI: Return of the Jedi

  • Conversations: The Effects
  • Discoveries From Inside: The Sounds Of Ben Burtt
  • Legacy content includes “Classic Creatures: Return Of The Jedi”; “Revenge Of The Jedi Teaser Trailer”; Return Of The Jedi Launch Trailer; “It Began TV Spot”; “Climactic Chapter TV Spot”; plus five deleted scenes.

Join our list

Subscribe to our mailing list and get weekly updates on our latest contests, interviews, and reviews.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Accept Read More