Twitter Canada infographic: MMVA by the numbers

MMVA 15 co-host Ed Sheeran

You can save your screams for Sunday night, when the 2015 Much Music Video Awards hit downtown Toronto, but until then Twitter Canada is ranking your favorite artists based on tweets. If you’re wondering how Justin Bieber stands up to Shawn Mendes, look no further than Twitter’s MMVA infographic.

For the most buzzworthy fan favorites at the MMVAs, co-host Ed Sheeran comes out on top in the International Artist or Group category, while Justin Bieber topped Shawn Mendes in the Canadian Artist or Group category.

In terms of the whole Bieber versus Mendes showdown, Bieber has Mendes beat in number of followers (64.6 million to just 3.2 million) and tweets (28,616 to 9,870), but Mendes is tweeting more videos and vines.

Fans can get in on the Twitter faceoff with the hashtags #JutinForMMVA and #ShawnForMMVA.

The Much Music Video Awards air this Sunday in Canada on Much, CTV, CTV Two, MTV, MTV2, M3, Much.com, and CTV GO starting at 9:00 PM (ET) and 6:00 PM (PT). The red carpet begins only on Much at 8:00 PM (ET) / 5:00 PM (PT).

Stay tuned to The GATE for coverage, and watch our YouTube MMVA playlist for videos.

Twitter MMVA Infographic
Twitter MMVA Infographic
W. Andrew Powell lives, sleeps, eats, and breaths movies and entertainment. Since launching The GATE in 1999 Andrew has enjoyed being a pest to any publicist who would return his calls. In his "spare time," Andrew is also an avid photographer, and writes about leisure travel and hotels around the world.