2007 Juno Awards – Night one winners

by W. Andrew Powell

2007 Juno Awards - StatuesThe first night of Juno Award celebrations wrapped up tonight and a total of thirty-two awards were presented in Saskatoon. Hosted by Quebec’s Gregory Charles, tonight’s industry and invite-only awards ceremony is popularly considered a precursor to tomorrow’s main event – the Juno Awards broadcast. Although the Sunday’s broadcast features only seven Juno awards, the event also includes performances and recognition to the most popular categories.

Highlights from the Gala evening included Nelly Furtado‘s unsurprising double win for Artist of the Year and Pop Album of the Year, City and Colour winning for Alternative Album of the Year, Gordie Sampson taking Songwriter of the Year, and Jim Cuddy grabbing the Adult Alternative Album of the Year.

Also recognized during the evening were the winners of two special awards – the Humanitarian Award, which was presented to Tom Jackson for his contributions to “the social landscape of Canada”, and the Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award which went to Donald K. Tarlton, a successful concert promoter, record label executive and an influential music industry entrepreneur.

The 2007 Juno Awards live broadcast will air tomorrow, Sunday, April 1 on CTV and will be hosted by Nelly Furtado.

Visit www.junoawards.ca for more on the awards. A partial list of tonight’s Juno winners follows:

International Album Of The Year
Taking The Long Way – Dixie Chicks

Artist Of The Year
Nelly Furtado Geffen

New Group Of The Year

Songwriter Of The Year
Gordie Sampson
“Jesus Take The Wheel” – Brett James / Hillary Lindsay – SOME HEARTS – Carrie Underwood
“Words Get In The Way” – Troy Verges / Aimee Mayo – DANGEROUS MAN – Trace Adkins
“Crybaby” – Carolyn Dawn Johnson / Troy Verges – LOVE & NEGOTIATION – Carolyn Dawn Johnson

Country Recording Of The Year
Somebody Wrote Love – George Canyon

Rap Recording Of The Year
Black Magic – Swollen Members

Adult Alternative Album Of The Year
The Light That Guides You Home – Jim Cuddy

Alternative Album Of The Year
Sometimes – City and Colour

Pop Album Of The Year
Loose – Nelly Furtado

Vocal Jazz Album Of The Year
From This Moment On – Diana Krall

Francophone Album Of The Year
Il était une fois dans l’est – Antoine Gratton

Dance Recording Of The Year
Sexor – Tiga

Roots & Traditional Album Of The Year: Solo
Yellowjacket – Stephen Fearing

Roots & Traditional Album Of The Year: Group
Bloom – The McDades Free Radio Records

Blues Album Of The Year
House Of Refuge – Jim Byrnes

Jack Richardson Producer Of The Year
Brian Howes
“Trip” HEDLEY – Hedley Universal
“Lips of an Angel” EXTREME BEHAVIOR – Hinder

Recording Engineer Of The Year
John “Beetle” Bailey
“Rain” MESSIN’ AROUND – Molly Johnson
“Sisters Of Mercy” IF YOUR MEMORY SERVES YOU WELL – Serena Ryder

Video Of The Year
Bridge To Nowhere Duplex (aka Dave Pawsey and Jonathan Legris) SAM ROBERTS

Music DVD Of The Year
Escarpment Blues – Andy Keen, Sarah Harmer, Patrick Sambrook SARAH HARMER

Join our list

Subscribe to our mailing list and get weekly updates on our latest contests, interviews, and reviews.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

You may also like

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. Accept Read More